International Organizations Summits - A brief insight

1. BRICS summit

Country: Brazil, Russia, India, China, South-Africa.
- 6th BRICS Summit 2014: Fortaleza, Brazil
- Next 7th BRICS Summit to be held in Ufa, Russia
Note: Ufa is the capital city of the Republic of Bashkortostan, Russia, and the industrial, economic, scientific and cultural
centre of the republic.
- The theme chosen for our discussions was "Inclusive Growth: Sustainable Solutions”.

New BRICS Bank:

The New Development Bank (NDB), formerly referred to as the BRICS Development Bank, is a proposed multilateral development bank operated by the BRICS states (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) as an alternative to the existing World Bank and International Monetary Fund.

The New Development Bank headquarter will be in Shanghai, China.
The Bank will have a rotating chair and its first President will come from India for the first six years.
The first chair of the Board of Governors shall be from Russia.
The first chair of the Board of Directors shall be from Brazil.
The Bank will also have a regional office in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Participant leaders of the five nations are
• Brazil - Dilma Rousseff
• Russian - Vladimir Putin
• Indian - Narendra Modi
• China - Xi Jinping
• South Africa - Jacob Zuma

Development Capital: The member countries will also set up a $100 billion currency reserves pool to help countries forestall short-term liquidity pressures.

Note: The bank will begin with a subscribed capital of $50 billion divided equally between its five founders.

2. IBSA Summit ( India, Brazil, South Africa): India will host the next summit of IBSA (India, Brazil, South Africa) in New Delhi in 2015.

3. Nuclear security summit:
• 2nd Summit 2012 – Seoul, South Korea.
• 3rd Summit 2014 : Hague, Netherland
• 4th Summit 2016: United States

4. G 8 Summit:
• G-8 Countries: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, Britain and the US
• 40th G-7 summit 2014 held at Brussels.

Note: It was the first time that the EU hosted a G7 summit. The summit is jointly represented by the European
Council President Herman van Rompuy and the European Commission President.

5. G 20 Summit:
• G-20 meeting (2014) of Finance ministers and central bank governors held in Sydney (Australia).
• G20 Leaders Summit (2014) will be held in Brisbane, Queensland (Australia, in November 2014.

6. SAARC Summit ( South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation ):
• 18th SAARC Summit 2014- Kathmandu (Nepal)

7. NATO Summit: NATO Summit 2014 will be held in Britain. (Britain last hosted the summit in 1990, when Margret Thatcher was Prime Minister).

8. BIMSTEC Summit (Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation):
• 3rd BIMSTEC summit 2014: Nay Pyi Taw (Myanmar)
• 4th BIMSTEC summit will be held in Nepal.

Note: BIMSTEC (Bay of Bangal Initiative for Multisectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation)
BIMSTEC includes 7 countries: Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal and aims to create cooperation in multiple sectors including trade, investment and energy.

New Member United Nation – South Sudan new member country .
Total - 193 members

1. 18th BASIC Ministerial Meeting held in New Delhi. 
BASIC - (Brazil, South Africa, India and China)
Note: 17th BASIC Ministerial Meeting on Climate Change was held in Hanzghou, China

2. ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations ) foreign-minister-meeting held in Myanmar.

3. Fifth Indo-US Strategic Dialogue held in New Delhi during which the two sides discussed “transformative initiatives” in key areas of security and energy.

4. 3rd India-Africa Summit will be held in New Delhi.

5. 6th International Nuclear Energy Forum ATOMEXPO-2014 held in Moscow.

6. World Economic Forum 2014: held in Abuja (Nigeria). Bharti Enterprises founder and Chairman Sunil Bharti Mittal co - chair this year’s edition of the World Economic Forum on Africa.

WTO - Yemen new member country. Total - 160 members.
World Bank & IMF - South Sudan new member country. Total - 188 members
European Union - Croatia new member country. Total– 28